Atonement Theory - A Finger Pointing at the Moon

Date: May 30, 2024

Tags: Christianity

Status: Incomplete

Despite periodic bouts of nihilism and an overconfidence in science to answer every question, I would still consider myself to be a Christian. I can’t really help myself. I just can’t seem to overcome the idea that everything in the universe, past present and future, all come together at this one location in space and time to produce a subjective experience that is so much more than just the sum of all the physical phenomena that give rise to that experience. When I read in Genesis that man was created in God’s image it seems to speak directly to the mystery of it all.

The problem with identifying as a Christian is the struggle to understand exactly what theology to buy into. The subject that hangs me up most is the ideas of atonement and salvation.

Growing up around a Baptist theology led me to believe that we are saved from our own evil by nailing our sins onto the cross with the dying Savior. It’s definitely a bleak idea, but it does a good job of conveying the weight of our own actions. Other ways I’ve heard it described…